Change Font Size:   A   A   A

You are here: ATSIP.org  >  About Us  >  History


ATSIP is a nonprofit 501(c)3 organization with a mission to further the development and sharing of traffic records system procedures, tools, and to promote professionalism in the field of traffic records. Over the years, we have evolved over time, technology, and adapted to changing need.


Click through the years from the early 1900s to the present day to discover more of ATSIP's beginnings.

  • National Safety Council (NSC) created.

  • Accident statistics committee created within the NSC to study the preparation of accident data.

  • The Public Safety Division of the NSC, included a statistical committee that was responsible for developing report forms for accidents on public highways, as well as for accidents involving water transportation and aircraft, those occurring in buildings and other structures, and accidents connected with recreation.

  • NSC produced the first forms for reporting public accidents, including motor vehicle traffic accidents.

  • The Public Safety Division became the Street and Highways Section. An accident records committee was formed that continued to develop recording procedures until 1957. Committee members included traffic records personnel from most states.

  • NSC developed its National Traffic Safety Contest, a group of 25 national organizations banded together to assist in developing a standardized procedure for recording traffic accident statistics. This group, the National Conference on Uniform Traffic Accident Statistics, developed the contest’s report forms, evaluation schedules, and scoring systems.

  • The Conference formulated a manual on accident classification.

  • The Conference was invited to join the NSC as a committee within the Traffic Conference. In this capacity it continued to guide the NSC and served as an advisory group on the Annual Inventory of Traffic Activities-Accident Records, which replaced the traffic safety content in 1958.

  • The Committee on Uniform Traffic Accident Statistics was replaced by the Traffic Accident Data (TAD) Project Steering Committee which was dedicated to updating record-keeping in all states and cities.

  • The TAD Committee developed the Manual on Classification of Motor Vehicle Traffic Accidents, which came into effect as the American National Standard Institute’s (ANSI) D16.1 committee.

  • The TAD Committee decided that its steering role was no longer needed and that the records field would be better served if administrators were gathered in a body that would allow exchange of ideas. Thus, the Traffic Records Committee was formed. Many of the objectives in 1973 are still the pillars of the Association today.

  • Members were active in various ANSI subcommittees preparing the first Data Element Dictionary for Traffic Records Systems (ANSI) D20.1, reference book allowing states to standardize their data on accidents, roadways, drivers, vehicles, and other elements of the traffic scene.

  • The committee voted to reduce the maximum time span for traffic fatalities from 12 months to 90 days between the time of the accident and the death of the victim.

  • ANSI D20 dictionary was adopted at the Fourth National Forum on Traffic Records Systems in Rochester, New York, in 1978. The committee began revision of its governing rules to formally recognize a three-region concept – east, central, and west – to ensure truly representative participation on the committee, and to rotate the location of the forum each year among the regions.

  • Maximum time span of 3 months for a fatality was adopted as an ANSI standard.

  • At the sixth forum, held in 1980 in Dallas, Texas, three revisions to the governing rules were approved which still shape the Association today. The three-region concept was embodied, the annual meeting and election of officers and executive board members was changed to coincide with the date of the international forum, and lastly, the rules provided for a chairman, first vice chairman, and second vice chairman, each from a different region.

  • At the tenth forum in Orlando, record-keepers facing the age of the microcomputer had a chance to try out the newest hardware as well as hear about the latest developments from distinguished experts.

  • Creation of the National Agenda for the improvement of highway safety information systems began.

  • National Agenda presented. The six goals which comprise the broad framework for the National Agenda are as applicable today as they were 15 years ago. In condensed form the goals are: 1) Appreciation of the Value of Information, 2) Coordination of the Collection, Management, and Use of Data, 3) Integration of Programs with Information Systems, 4) Resources to Make the Appropriate Technology Choices, 5) Training in Methods Appropriate for Evaluation, and 6) Standards for Information Systems.

  • The proposal for the Traffic Records Committee to become the Association of Highway Safety Information Professionals (AHSIP) was presented to the NSC’s Highway Traffic Safety Division during the National Safety Congress in 2001.

  • During 2009 – 2010, ATSIP separated from the NSC, serving as the business/managing entity of the traffic records forum – the 36th Forum in New Orleans – for the first time in its history. Becoming a 501 c 3 nonprofit association, ATSIP is now establishing a new relationship with the U.S. DOT, as well as all of its previous liaison associations as it continues efforts to provide the transportation community with the information needed to effectively manage the safety of highway transportation now and in the future.

Past Presidents

President Years

A. Dewy Jordan 1973-1975
Donald W. Reinfurt 1975-1976
Clarence W. Mosher 1976-1978
John J. Zogby 1978-1980
Larry Wort 1980-1982
Larry G. Karsten 1982-1983
Benjamin V. Chatfield 1983-1984
Russell R. Fleming 1984-1985
Howard B. Graff 1985-1986
Fred F. Small 1986-1987
Joyce Emery 1987-1988
Judy L. Froseth 1988-1989
Clayton E. Hatch 1989-1990
Don D. Hinton 1990-1991
James G. Templeton 1991–1992
Phyllis E. Young 1992–1993
Frances Bannowsky 1993–1994
Barbara H. DeLucia 1994–1995
David Mosley 1995–1996
Stephanie Olson 1996–1997
Robert L. Thompson 1997–1998
Mark L. Edwards 1998–1999
Creighton W. Miller 1999–2000
Richard D. Paddock 2000–2001
Dave Bozak 2001–2002
Larry Holestine 2002–2003
Dan Magri 2003–2004
Robert Scopatz 2004–2005
Jim Davis 2005–2006
Tom Steele / Dave Bozak 2006–2007
Joan Vecchi 2007–2008
Bob Rasmussen 2008–2010
Hadi Shirazi 2010–2012
Marty Pollock 2012-2013
Nils King 2013-2014
Cynthia Burch 2014-2015
Tim Kerrns 2015-2016
Allen Parrish 2016-2017
Kathleen Haney 2017-2018

Past Forums

Forum - City Year

1st - New Orleans 1974
2nd - St. Louis 1976
3rd - Memphis 1977
4th - Rochester 1978
5th - Scottsdale 1979
6th - Dallas 1980
7th - St. Petersburg 1981
8th - Las Vegas 1982
9th - St. Paul 1983
10th - Orlando 1984
11th - Reno 1985
12th - Lexington 1986
13th - Williamsburg 1987
14th - San Diego 1988
15th - El Paso 1989
16th - Bal Harbour 1990
17th - Portland 1991
18th - New Orleans 1992
19th - Arlington 1993
20th - Tucson 1994
21st - Milwaukee 1995
22nd - Philadelphia 1996
23rd - Tucson 1997
24th - Minneapolis 1998
25th - Danvers 1999
26th - Portland 2000
27th - New Orleans 2001
28th - Orlando 2002
29th - Denver 2003
30th - Nashville 2004
31st - Buffalo 2005
32nd - Palm Desert 2006
33rd - St. Louis 2007
34th - Orlando 2008
35th - Phoenix 2009
36th - New Orleans 2010
37th - Charlotte, North Carolina 2011
38th - Biloxi, Mississippi 2012
39th - St. Paul, Minnesota 2013
40th - St. Louis, Missouri 2014
41st - Costa Mesa, California 2015
42nd - Baltimore, Maryland 2016
43rd - New Orleans, Louisiana 2017
44th - Milwaukee, Wisconsin 2018


Related Articles

Related Documents

Back To The Top

Quick Links Quick Links

Term Glossary

Refund Policy

Privacy Policy


ATSIP Discussion Board

Contact Get in touch!
  • Should be Empty: